Might and Power: Kolora Noorat continues proud tradition

Kolora Noorat celebrates its fourth senior football premiership since joining the Warrnambool and District Football Netball League.

FOR the first time since 2011, the Warrnambool and District league senior football premiership headed back to Noorat Recreation Reserve.

The Power completely outclassed Old Collegians on the big stage, recording a 54-point triumph at Reid Oval last Saturday.

Kolora Noorat led by seven points at quarter time, and by half-time that margin had grown to 25.

Old Collegians proved no match for a well-drilled Power outfit, as a further 10 second half goals from Kolora Noorat sent the Warriors packing on grand final day for the second year in a row.

Old Collegians’ home and away record is the envy of every club, however their performance when it counts most is just the opposite.

The Warriors have dropped just one home and away match over the past two seasons to claim successive minor premierships, but in that same time frame have lost two grand finals and suffered three finals defeats in total.

For Kolora Noorat, this premiership success tells many tales.

Former coach Ben Kenna played in his fourth premiership with the Power, after leading the club through its famed three-peat of 2009-2011.

This year’s triumph was made all the more memorable for the veteran after playing three matches with son Isaac, who also picked up a premiership medal of his own as part of the Power’s under 17.5 side.

For assistant coach Ben Walsh it was a sweet success.

Last year he was left out of the Koroit side which claimed the Hampden league premiership, after playing in 20 of the club’s 21 games prior to the grand final.

Joey Conheady will forever be known as a premiership captain.

In just his second year with the Power since moving from Terang Mortlake, he has been a great onfield leader for his side.

Joel Moloney was named best on ground in an outstanding performance, taking home both the AFL Victoria Country Medal and Scotty Stewart Medal.

Moloney only returned to his junior club midway through the season after relocating to his former home.

Key forward Ben Fraser took on the orange vest in the dying stages, but had already played his role, booting two goals after overcoming a calf injury to win a third flag with the club.

Fraser and Jason Moloney are both city-based members of this squad, with the lure of a premiership drawing both players back to the family-oriented club.

Mark Clissold is another four-time premiership player for the Power, making his way back into the side following a hamstring injury which prevented him from lining up in the second semi-final.

Clissold played in four consecutive grand finals at the Power before claiming another premiership in 2014 at Colac and District League club Simpson.

He returned to Kolora Noorat via a short stint at Terang Mortlake, and looked right at home on grand final day in the Power jumper.

Sean Bourke is also a 2009 premiership player at Kolora Noorat and another of the club’s favourite sons to have returned after a prolonged absence.

Bourke was well-travelled in his time away, firstly playing in the metro based Eastern Football League before moving overseas for two years.

He came back to the Power in 2013 before again spending time away from the game until a return in 2016.

Another veteran of the game Jono Gleeson was a part of the 2010 and 2011 flags, and can now add a 2017 premiership medallion to his collection.

The dynamic Scott Judd made his senior debut at Kolora Noorat in 2009, and in the same year played in a losing grand final with the under 17 side.

When the Power claimed the first of three consecutive flags, Luke Tebble was an under 14 at the club.

This season, Tebble and premiership ruckman Jake Richardson have travelled countless kilometres from their Ballarat base to both play and train.

Stephen O’Connor returned from living overseas to make amends for the 2012 grand final loss, which also featured Paul McSween, who has been a warhorse for the club playing a good mix of  senior and reserve grade football over the past decade.

Sam Harkin led the way in front of goal for the Power on grand final day with three majors, able to share the glory with his brother Matt, who moved to the club last season.

Second year Power players Sam Williams, Sandy Williams, Lachlan Mackay and Will Carter have all had their decisions justified with the taste of premiership glory.

Peter Moloney was the sole first year Power player in the side, and is now forever etched in history after just 11 senior matches with the club.

Teenage substitute Nick Hoare was activated late in the fourth quarter, in what was his second triumph of the day after earlier playing a starring role in the under 17.5 premiership.

For coach Danny Finn, it was his first triumph from the sidelines, having won two premierships as a player with South Warrnambool.

One thing is for certain, Kolora Noorat are not done yet, and 2018 will be all about chasing back-to-back flags.

Comments are closed.