Mortlake Dispatch
Gath sweeps cup night

TERANG Harness Racing Club’s night of nights attracted quality fields and a large crowd to Dalvui Raceway last Saturday.

It turned into a terrific evening for leading Victorian female driver Kate Gath, who scored the cups double after success in both the pacing and trotting feature events.

Firstly, she guided husband Andy’s six year-old McLovin to victory in the South West Conveyancing Terang Trotters Cup.

It has been a lucrative month for McLovin, as this result comes just one week after saluting in the $30,000 South Australian Trotters Cup at Globe Derby.

Kate then steered the Emma Stewart trained Maraetai to glory in the $60,000 Terang Co-Op Pacing Cup ahead of Matthew Craven’s stable star Cant Refuse.

Overall it proved to be a good night for punters backing the favourite, with seven saluting from the 10 race card.

Local trainer Courtney Slater enjoyed success first up with Jackierabbit, who in the process set a new track record of 1:56.5 with driver Glen Craven, to win by 18 metres from Whosashadylady and Keayang Bazooka.

The luck continued for Terang members soon after as the Anthony O’Connor trained and Xavier O’Connor driven Aldebaran Kiri enjoyed a comfortable triumph.

Jason Lee picked up two wins on cup night for trainer Tim Bolitho, guiding Our Summer Wind and Miss Dangerfield to victory.

Pacing Cup winning trainer Emma Stewart made it a treble in races six to eight, as Brevity and Tam Major joined the party and chimed in with narrow wins.

Hometown runner Jilliby Madonna caused the biggest upset of the night to overrun short-priced favourite Major Times.

She sat one out, one back at the bell but kicked on down the home straight to win by just over one metre from Steel Screens, who also finished strongly down the outside to narrowly edge out Major Times.

Race one: Ridleys/Barastoc Pace - 1st Jackierabbit (trainer Courtney Slater, driver Glen Craven) $1.20 favourite, 2nd Whosashadylady (Tim O’Brien, Ryan Duffy), 3rd Keayang Bazooka (Margaret Lee, Jason Lee);

Race two: Terang Home Hardware Trotters Handicap - 1st Aldebaran Kiri (Anthony O’Connor, Xavier O’Connor) $1.90 favourite, 2nd Columbias Deejay (David Magri, David Magri), 3rd Yankee Redback (Damien Burns, Damien Burns);

Race three: Neville and Patsy Clarke Memorial Pace - 1st Jilliby Madonna (Margaret Lee, Glen Craven) $23.80, 2nd Steel Screens (Ashleigh Herbertson, James Herbertson), 3rd Major Times (Emma Stewart, Sid Van Den Brande);

Race four: Harry Whiting Memorial Silver Plate - 1st Our Summer Wind (Tim Bolitho, Jason Lee) $1.70 favourite, 2nd The Big Show (Jeff McLean, Tim McLean), 3rd Glamors Symbol (Owen Martin, Michael Sullivan);

Race five: South West Conveyancing Terang Trotters Cup - 1st McLovin (Andy Gath, Kate Gath) $1.20 favourite, 2nd Jerichos Trumpet (Zac Steenhuis, Ryan Duffy), 3rd No Republic (E&R Brosnan, Richard Brosnan);

Race six: Pat Bellman Memorial 3YO Pace - 1st Brevity (Emma Stewart, Sid Van Den Brande) $2.70, 2nd Soundslikeart (Anton Golino, Jason Lee), 3rd Fides (Matthew Craven, Matthew Craven);

Race seven: Terang Co-Op Pacing Cup - 1st Maraetai (Emma Stewart, Kate Gath) $4.30, 2nd Cant Refuse (Matthew Craven, Matthew Craven), 3rd Flaming Flutter (Geoff Webster, Greg Sugars);

Race eight: Morsbearings Dalvui Dominator - 1st Tam Major (Emma Stewart, Sid Van Den Brande) $1.70 favourite, 2nd Crime Writer (Matthew Craven, Matthew Craven), 3rd Labella Rock (Greg Scholefield, Greg Sugars);

Race nine: Trots @ Terang March 19th Silver Plate - 1st Miss Dangerfield (Tim Bolitho, Jason Lee) $1.60 favourite, 2nd Mighty Regal (William Drury, William Drury), 3rd Sucralose (Bec Wardlaw, Darby McGuigan);

Race 10: Goodtime Lodge Vicbred Platinum Mares Sprint Championship heat - 1st Sewplayful (Paula Martin, Jack Laugher) $1.60 favourite, 2nd Save The Game (Paul Warnock, Paul Warnock), 3rd Fire Official (Peter Matthews, Michael Bellman).