Mortlake Dispatch
Local success in Lions fun run

A HISTORIC finish was the perfect way for Terang Lions Club to celebrate the 37th staging of its ‘Community Fun Run’ last Friday night.

Tyson Densley became Terang ‘Fun Run’ royalty after he held off Camperdown’s Michael Winzar by three seconds to become the first ever Terang local to win the 5.92 kilometre event.

Lions Club president Chris O’Connor said Densley’s effort was the “highlight” of the night, ending a long run of local placings in the annual event.

“Tyson Densley was the first Terang male winner, which is interesting in itself because it’s (the fun run) in its 37th year,” he said.

“We’ve always had plenty of placings (over the years) but never a winner.”

Densley, who was participating in the event alongside his Terang Mortlake football team-mates as part of their pre-season training, completed the course in a time of 21 minutes and one second.

Rhys Buck was the first under 18 male to finish the event, while Ethan Boyd (under 15), Ben Carlin (under 13), Lee Haberfield (Veteran 40-49) and Mark Cuthell (Veteran 50 plus) were the other male category winners.

In the female open event, Rachael Ayres finished over two minutes clear as she stormed to victory ahead of Anna McMeel and Nicole O’Sullivan.

Emily Morden (under 18), Kiarna Murfett (under 15), Sophie Curran (under 13), Alicia Boyd (Veteran 35-44) and Liz Bell (Veteran 45 plus) were the other female section winners.

Over 120 walkers also hit the pavement, with Adam Moloney, Fay Pearson, Tess Aitken, Helen Harney and Glen Cain the unofficial placegetters.

Overall, O’Connor said he was pleased with the success of the ‘Fun Run’, which attracted between 350 to 400 participants.

He said the Lions Club “really enjoys” holding the ‘Fun Run’ and was pleased to see it attracted people from all across the region, adding there appeared to be more runners than walkers this year.

O’Connor commended everyone for their efforts in completing the event and was pleased to report everyone got through unscathed.

“It’s sort of maintained its spot as one of the premier fun runs in the region which is fantastic for us,” he said.

“It’s pleasing to see people make the commitment and do the preparation for the event.”

O’Connor said the club would continue to look at ways to continue to improve the event and would use some of the funds it generates to complete projects in the local community.

Male: Open: 1st Tyson Densley, 2nd Michael Winzar, 3rd Rhys Buck;

Under 18: 1st Rhys Buck, 2nd Logan Cuthell, 3rd Isaac Kenna;

Under 15: 1st Ethan Boyd, 2nd Jack Cowan, 3rd Fred Beasley;

Under 13: 1st Ben Carlin, 2nd Lewis Beaton, 3rd Max Mayilic;

Veterans (40-49 years): 1st Lee Haberfield;

Veterans (50 plus): 1st Mark Cuthell.

Female: Open: 1st Rachael Ayres, 2nd Anna McMeel, 3rd Nicole O’Sullivan;

Under 18: 1st Emily Morden, 2nd Tully Watt;

Under 15: 1st Kiarna Murfett, 2nd Holly Fowler, 3rd Lizzy Justin;

Under 13: 1st Sophie Curran, 2nd Claire Matthew, 3rd Taleah Murfett;

Veterans (35-44 years): 1st Alicia Boyd;

Veterans (45 plus): 1st Liz Bell.

Unofficial walker placings: Adam Moloney, Fay Pearson, Tess Aitken, Helen Harney and Glen Cain.

Random walker prizes: Laurie Symons, Christine James, Peter Grinter, Lorraine Meade and Lisa McDonald.

Helloworld Travel voucher: Kloe Meade.